Posts Tagged ‘Tuam’

Ireland finalise team to face USA in the International King’s Cup at Lough Erne Resort

May 3, 2017

Ireland’s team to face the USA in the International King’s Cup has been confirmed after a final qualifying event at Lough Erne Resort.
Following four regional qualifiers at Ardglass GC, Ennis GC, Westport GC and Dunmurry Springs GC, 60 players arrived at the Co Fermanagh venue, focused on securing a place on Ireland’s 16-man (8 pairs) team to face the USA in May.
Blustery conditions made life tricky for many of the competitors but it didn’t seem to bother two Kesh brothers Declan McKeever and Darren McKeever. The duo earned their spots on the Ireland team with a solid two-over par round of 74. They were later joined by another Co Fermanagh based pair of Vincent Owens and Martin Peters.
The best score of the day came from a pair of three-handicappers from Munster – Alan Moran (Tuam) and Colm Feeney (Galway GC) – who finished with a fine better-ball score of two under par 70.
Lynn McCool, Director of Golf and Head Professional at Lough Erne Resort said: “Many thanks to the clubs that hosted regional qualifiers and all the players who competed to try and earn a place on the Ireland team.

“I’m convinced that we have put a very strong team together capable of defending the trophy we won last year. We are looking forward to the main event now and can’t wait for the Americans to arrive in Northern Ireland so they can get a taste of golf, N.I style.”

The International King’s Cup was first played last year and finished in dramatic style with Ireland winning after a thrilling play-off. The Ryder Cup style tournament, which honours golf’s greatest ambassador, Mr Arnold Palmer, will take place this year from May 23-25.
Both teams will stay on-site at the Lough Erne resort, with full access to the golf academy, receive specially commissioned outerwear courtesy of Glenmuir and attend two Gala dinners as part of the event.

International King’s Cup Qualifiers
Senior Championship – Alan Moran (Tuam GC) & Colm Feeney (Galway GC)
Senior Category A – Niall Clince (Craddockstown GC) & Kieran O’Brien (Craddockstown GC)
Senior Category B – Liam Friel (Westport GC) & John Collins (Westport GC)
Senior Category C – James McAllister (Ballybofey & S GC) & Patsy O’Donnell (Ballybofey & S GC)
Open Age Championship – Darren Carey (Dunmurry Springs) & Paul Sweeney (Dunmurry Springs GC)
Category A Open Age – Declan McKeever (Donegal GC) & Darren McKeever (Donegal GC)
Category B Open Age – Kevin Commins (Ardee GC) & Tom Muldoon (Cloverhill GC)
Category C Open Age – Vincent Owens (Donegal GC) & Martin Peters (Omagh GC)