McDowell ready to make Ryder Cup push

With just over four months until the start of the Ryder Cup a number of Europe’s leading lights – including Graeme McDowell – are in a race to be part of Darren Clarke’s side in Hazeltine.
“There’s lots and lots of jockeying for position to come up here in the next few months and I feel like I’m well positioned mentally and physically to do that,” said Graeme ahead of the opening round of the DDF Irish Open at the K Club.
“Of course I’d love to be part of the team. We had a little get together last week at The Players [Championship]. Darren did sort of a veteran’s dinner on the Tuesday night, and I think he did the rookie’s dinner on Thursday night.
“Obviously I was at the veteran’s one on Tuesday night. And it was inspiring to visualise yourself at Hazeltine and being part of the team and what it’s going to feel like in the team room.
“I feel like it was that nice little bit of motivation that I needed, and like I say, it goes without saying that I want to be on the team.”
McDowell is the only European player to have qualified automatically for the last four contests, but the world number 68 believes it will be tougher than ever to extend that impressive record.
“With so many great young players coming through, looking at Andy Sullivan, Matt Fitzpatrick, Shane Lowry and Danny Willett, a few of us have got to get our act together,” said the 36-year-old, who is currently 14th in the standings.
“The veterans, as such, are not really performing the way they need to be, myself included. It’s one of those things that will take care of itself if I can do what I want to do the next few months, but it’s going to be a really highly-contested team and picks are going to be hard to come by.
“I certainly don’t want to wait for a pick this year. It’s going to be a hot team to get on to, but I feel like we’re into the meat and bones now the next few months with three majors, double points at the French Open, next week at the BMW PGA Championship of course. I’m desperate to be on the team, but I know I have to stay patient and just let it take care of itself.”

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

