McVeigh making match-play return for RCD Ladies in Senior Cup

Danielle McVeigh celebrates success in the Irish Women's Close Championship in 2011

Danielle McVeigh celebrates success in the Irish Women’s Close Championship back in 2011

Former professional, Danielle McVeigh, will make a return to inter-club action on Sunday when she plays for Royal County Down Ladies in the Ulster Senior Cup qualifiers at Clandeboye GC.
Danielle, who represented GB&I in the 2010 Curtis Cup, turned professional in 2011 but two years of battling without a breakthrough eventually took its toll and she called it a day at the end of 2013.
The 26-year-old put her clubs away, found work with Dublin based software firm Qualtrics and discovered that there was more to life than golf.
Now, with her enthusiasm renewed and her amateur status reinstated – she has been given a +2 handicap – Danielle is back playing and will be getting her first taste of match-play golf in almost six years when she lines out for RCD at Clandeboye on Sunday.
“RCD Ladies did O.K during the period I was playing for them,” said Danielle.
“We won Ulster a few times but never managed to go on and win an All-Ireland.
“We have a very strong team this year. I’m not seeded number one, which will be a first for me. It’s interesting for me but I can’t argue, Olivia Mehaffey is playing so well at the minute and it means I can fly in there under the radar.”
Olivia’s recent hat trick of success in Ireland, Scotland and Wales mirrors victories achieved by Danielle in her last year as an amateur in 2011.
“I won the Helen Holm and the Welsh Strokeplay back-to-back just like Olivia,” added Danielle.
“When she won in Wales I sent her a message – ‘There’s some great names on those trophies!’

“I have played with Olivia a good few times. She is doing brilliant and the results speak for themselves. She showed great potential and talent from a young age and now the results are starting to come. It’s reward for the hard work she is putting in.”

Danielle’s first serious competitive event of the season was a couple of weeks ago when she played in the 36-hole scratch-cup at Lahinch GC. She finished in mid-table, but was reasonably content with her performance.
“I really like it down there. It’s a great course and I also played Ballybunion the next day,” she added.
“I’m also planning to play in the Irish Stroke Play in a couple of weeks. To be honest, I’m only playing in places where I like to play golf.
“I still want to play well and it can get a bit frustrating when I do hit a bad one knowing how well I might have hit it in the past but it’s grand then when I come off the course – I can go to work. I’m not playing for ranking points or anything. I’m just out to enjoy myself this year.”
Royal Portrush are the reigning Ulster champions but face a difficult start against Royal Belfast in the quarter-finals. Lurgan, who face Bangor in Sunday’s preliminary round will be relying on youth to overcome their competitors.
The quarter-finals on Sunday will be followed by the semi-finals/final on Monday.

Irish Senior Cup – Ulster section
Sunday 10 May
8am – Bangor v Lurgan
Quarter-finals
8.50am Royal Portrush v Royal Belfast
9.40am Shandon Park v Belvoir Park
10.30am Clandeboye v Malone
1pm Bangor/Lurgan v RCD Ladies
Monday 11 May
Semi-finals/Final
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

