Selfridge ready to give professional golf a chance

selfridge at north_edited

Chris Selfridge in action at Royal Portrush

It’s easy to see the lure of professional golf for young amateurs when Jordan Spieth walks away with a major title at the tender age of 21.
Now, more than ever, golf is a young man’s game, exemplified by the fact that both the world number one, Rory McIlroy and number two, Spieth, are under the age of 30.
Spieth didn’t even bother to finish college, packing it in to make his way on the PGA Tour, a decision that now seems inspired.
How many more talented young players will now opt to skip college golf and dive straight into the pro game?
That path was never a consideration for Chris Selfridge who announced yesterday that he would be joining the paid ranks – at the relatively mature age of 23 – on the completion of his marketing degree at the University of Toledo.
“I feel my game is ready for the next step. I have achieved everything in the amateur game I wanted to achieve. The thought of professional golf motivates and excites me,” said Chris who is scheduled to finish his degree at the end of May.

“Its was always my ambition to play professional golf but I also decided I wanted to have a degree as a back up plan and now that my degree is almost complete and I will finish in the next few weeks the timing is perfect.”

A member of Moyola Park GC near Castledawson, Chris burst into the upper echelons of Irish amateur golf in 2012 when he won the Irish Close Championship at Royal Portrush and followed it up by collecting the East of Ireland crown at Co Louth.
The North Coast venue has proven to be a particularly happy hunting ground for Chris. He would have been going for a hat-trick of North of Ireland Championship titles had he opted to remain as an amateur for another summer.
Now, his focus will be on the Challenge Tour and earning enough money from the eight invites he has received to secure full status for 2016.
“My first start as a professional will likely be the Czech Challenge (May 28-21) although I would love to receive an invite into the Irish Open at Royal County Down. That would be a great place to start,” added Chris who sounded out a number of people including coach Johnny Foster and five-time Euro Tour winner, Michael Hoey, before making his announcement.
“I have my eight invites [he’s also hoping to get a place at the NI Open at Galgorm] to secure my spot on the Challenge Tour and come the summer I will be going to tour school to try and make it onto the European Tour.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

