No let up – Rory gets back down to work at Akron

roryopen
Rory McIlroy has no intentions of taking his foot off the pedal following his stunning wire-to-wire Open Championship victory at Hoylake.
“I’ve obviously had a bit of time to reflect after The Open and everything, but I just decided I wanted to move on and move forward as there’s a lot of big tournaments left this year, a lot of golf left to play, and a lot of things I still want to achieve,” said the 25-year-old who is back in America to compete in this week’s WGC Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone CC in Akron, Ohio.
“I am enjoying being Open Champion but that’s not all I want to be. I want to move on and start by playing well again this week.”
McIlroy admitted that when he won his first major, the US Open in 2011, he could quite easily have ‘taken the rest of the year off’ but this time around, he is hoping to replicate the run of form that followed his PGA Championship victory at Kiawah Island in 2012.
On that occasion, the Holywood golfer went on to win two FedEx Cup events and the DP World Championship before eventually being named Player of the Year on the PGA Tour and the European Tour.
“I think every time you have success you have to reassess your goals,” added Rory who pinpointed regaining the World Number One spot as one of his targets.
“It’s only halfway, two thirds through the season. I have achieved a lot of the goals I set myself at the start of the year.
“You can celebrate it for a couple of days but then you have to move on.

“You have to keep moving forward, keep thinking about what you want to achieve.
“At the end of the year you can really reflect on everything you’ve done and enjoy it.
“I feel like I have a lot of momentum and I can carry that through to the end of the year and hopefully ride that and play some golf similar to what you saw at Hoylake.”
Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “No let up – Rory gets back down to work at Akron”

  1. nikkiprichard Says:

    I love Rory’s outlook on his future. He wants more and I think he is going to get more with that positive attitude. I have played with countless people who dwell on one win and try to make everything about that one win they had three years ago, but they need to move on to win more.

Leave a Reply

