New putter making all the difference for Selfridge

chris_selfridge_1
A CHANGE of putter appears to have paid off handsomely for Chris Selfridge (Moyola Park) after he booked his place in the final of the Cathedral Eye Clinic North of Ireland Championship at Royal Portrush on Friday.
Frustrated by his inability to convert chances, the University of Toledo student spent recent weeks searching for the right short stick before finally settling on a Ping model which seems to have made all the difference.
“Since I came home five weeks ago I have had four different putters trying to figure it out,” added the 21-year-old from Castledawson.
“Words can’t describe how bad it was. I finished 14 shots behind in the English Amateur and I missed 17 putts inside four feet over the four rounds.
“I’ve been using this one for a couple of weeks now. I think that maybe, it’s just about time they started to drop.”
Selfridge was in fine form yon Friday beating leading qualifier Brian Casey (Headfort) in the morning and then Irish Close Champion, Cormac Sharvin (Ardglass) in the semi-final. He was never behind at any stage, closing out both ties 3&2.
“I was very solid and gave myself a lot of birdie chance,” said the 21-year-old.
“I birdied nine, 10 and 11, gave one back at the 12th, but I always felt like I was in control.”
His beaten opponent, Sharvin, admitted that his own game was, ‘not where he wanted it to be’ and tipped Selfridge to win the title today.
“I can’t see Chris losing. Every time I made a mistake he cashed in,” said Cormac.
“At least I have got one step further than last year by reaching the semi-finals which is nice.”
Selfridge will face Gary Hurley (West Waterford/NUIM) in today’s final. The 20-year-old produced some of the best golf of the day in seeing off Michael Reid (Galgorm Castle) 6&5 in the quarter-final and then Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock) 6&5 in the last four.
“The whole day was the same really in terms of how I played; I just kept it in play,” said Munster representative Hurley.
“I played well against Geoff after getting off to a quick start. We get on well and we played a few games together last year in the inter-provincials for Munster.
“It is easier to play against people you don’t know, but you just have to shake hands at the start, play your match, and then be friends again afterwards.”

Cathedral Eye Clinic North of Ireland Amateur Open Championship at Royal Portrush
Quarter-finals
C Selfridge (Moyola Pk) bt B Casey (Headfort) 3&2; C Sharvin (Ardglass) bt H Diamond (Belvoir Pk) 1 hole; G Lenehan (Portmarnock) bt S Grehan (Tullamore) 3&2; G Hurley (West Waterford/NUIM) bt M Reid (Galgorm Castle) 6&5.
Semi-finals
Selfridge bt Sharvin 3&2; Hurley bt Lenehan 5&4.
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

