GMAC’s loss could be Europe’s gain


GRAEME McDowell’s failure to reach the Tour Championship in America could be a massive boost to Europe’s chance of retaining the Ryder Cup.
The hero of Celtic Manor in 2010 was disappointed to miss out on this week’s big bucks FedEx Cup finale but admits the enforced two week break will leave him raring to go at Medinah.
“I just couldn’t get up for the FedEx Cup after Kiawah Island [venue for the PGA Championship, the final major of the season],” said the 33-year-old.
“It’s disappointing not to be at the Tour Championship with a chance to win but part of me felt like I needed a good rest this week in preparation for next week.

“I’m not hitting the panic button. The game is still in great shape. It was more a mental thing. I didn’t have the same focus and the same drive, the same motivation that I felt like I had all summer.

“In hindsight I probably should have skipped Bethpage [venue for the opening round of the FedEx series] and got myself ready for week two in Boston but it’s only my second year in the play-offs and perhaps next year I will be a little bit more ready for them.”
McDowell will spend the weekend fine tuning his game with coach Pete Cowan at his base in Lake Nona before travelling to Medinah to join up with the rest of the European team.
“I will be ready for next week. It’s just natural energy, natural adrenaline,” said Graeme who won the crucial singles point against Hunter Mahan to regain the Ryder Cup for Europe in 2010.
“It has been a long season individually but I think guys can go into the Ryder Cup tired and find some energy in the tank.
“I’ll not be tired. I’ll have had two weeks off. I’m feeling fit, ready and healthy and really up for it. Come Friday morning, when the gun goes off, there is no such thing as fatigue at the Ryder Cup.”
* BRITISH Amateur champion, Alan Dunbar (Rathmore) qualified for stage two of the European Tour School at Wychwood Park, Crewe on Saturday.
Dunbar carded his worst round of the week, a five over 77 to sneak over the line. He is joined in the next stage by Clandeboye golfer, Jonathan Caldwell, Cian Curley, Barrie Trainor and David Higgins.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

