Rory ready to ‘knuckle down’ in Open hunt

WILL A more considered approach pay off for Rory McIlroy at Royal Lytham this week?
A month ago, McIlroy went into his US Open defence at Olympic Club vowing to stay aggressive off the tee and promptly missed the cut. This time around the 23-year-old insists that playing ‘smart’ will be the key to success.
“You have to plot your way around. Navigate your way around the fairway bunkers,” said Rory who will start his campaign tomorrow in the company of Louis Oosthuizen and Keegan Bradley.
“There are areas to hit it into on this golf course and that is what you have to focus on. I hit driver on 10 and 16 this week just to see what happens and its not worth it unless you really have to.
“If you can keep your ball on the fairway then there are chances to be aggressive going into some of the greens.”
Rory’s last competitive outing was two weeks ago at the Irish Open in Royal Portrush and a 10th place finish hinted that he was returning to something like his best form.
It also proved that contrary to comments he made last year at Royal St Georges, he is able to play in difficult weather conditions.
“Blaming the weather, blaming the draw, blaming my luck – that was just frustration. Looking back I just didn’t handle the conditions as best I could have,” added Rory.
“That’s something that I’m trying to do more of and to some degree at Portrush. I felt like I played well in the bad conditions.
“If it’s like that again this week you’re just going to have to knuckle down and focus and keep fighting. I’m looking forward to it. I feel like I’m hitting the ball great. I think it’s the best I have swung the club all year. I have done a lot of work on it.”

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

