GMAC looking to build on Dunhill display

HAVING shown signs of a welcome return to form in Scotland at the Dunhill Links Championship, Graeme McDowell is hoping to take another step forward on the US PGA Tour this week at the McGladrey Classic.
The 2010 US Open champ has fond memories of the Sea Island area in Georgia, home for this week’s event.
In 2001 he was part of the GB&I Walker Cup team which made history by defeating the Americans on home soil for the first time at Ocean Forest which is close to this week’s venue, the Seaside Course.
“My game feels great at the minute,” said GMAC on his website http://graememcdowell.com
“I said in Scotland that my game had turned a corner these last couple of months and I really believe that.
“Things are coming together nicely ahead of the season’s final quarter.
“It’s nice to return here to Sea Island again as I have such good memories of from 2001.
“We won the Walker Cup that year. We had a great team including Michael Hoey who won the Dunhill a couple of weeks ago and a certain Luke Donald who I can only describe as the iron man of golf right now.”
Graeme, who finished third at the Dunhill, his best result of the year, has been paired with former US Open champions Lucas Glover and Jim Furyk for the opening two days of competition.
Meanwhile, three-time major champion, Padraig Harrington, is under pressure to perform well in the Portugal Masters which gets underway today.
Harrington has slipped to 78th in the Official World Golf Ranking after three years without a European Tour win – and only tournament winners and the top 25 will be exempt for the event in Shanghai next month.
“I think this is the last chance for me,” said Harrington.
“I’m aware of it, it’s a good golf course and I like the HSBC event out there – it’s an event I look forward to.
“You don’t expect not to be in them if you know what I mean. I would be aware of that this week.”
Gareth Maybin, Paul McGinley, Shane Lowry, Gary Murphy, Peter Lawrie and Damien McGrane are also in the field.
Michael Hoey was due to play this week but was forced to pull out citing an injury.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

