Rory outgunned…by his Dad!


US OPEN champion Rory McIlroy, warmed up for the opening round of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship by losing out to his dad at the Old Course, St Andrews yesterday!
The 22-year-old Ryder Cup star could not match the scoring of playing partner Gerry, a very handy three-handicapper, who chipped in for an eagle two at the 18th on the famous links.
“I gave him eight shots, so I mean, we play stroke play because everything is in the hole this week,” said the world number three.
“So he starts at eight-under par and I start at level. Going up the last, he was one ahead of me. I hit a really good drive up there and he hit a decent drive maybe 50 yards short of the green. I was a bit closer.
“He chipped a 9-iron around through the ‘Valley of Sin’ up the hill into the hole. It was his second chip-in of the day as well. He didn’t even let me have a chance to beat him or even tie him! So I was the one buying lunch today.”
The duo will be back in action today at Kingsbarns but this time they will be competing as partners in the pro-am format. The pair have performed well at the Dunhill event in the past with Rory finishing second in 2009 behind Simon Dyson.
This week’s event marks the start of a busy 12 week spell for McIlroy who is embarking on a string of tournaments and commitments around the word.
He is determined to close the gap on Race to Dubai leader Luke Donald, but his main ambition is to wrap up another victory before the end of 2011.
“I want to get a win, whether it’s here or Korea next week or China or Dubai or Thailand or Hong Kong or wherever I am,” he added.
“I want to kick on. I feel as if I’m playing well enough. I’m hitting the ball well and I feel like my game is in good shape. So if I can keep getting myself in contention and giving myself chances, I’ll hopefully put my foot through the door and get another win.”
There’s a host of home players in the Dunhill field.
Paul Cutler makes his second professional appearance at Kingsbarns this morning in the company of Kieran McManus while former US Open champion, Graeme McDowell, will be partnered by his brother Gary, a greenkeeper at Royal Portrush, when he gets his challenge underway at 9am at the same venue.
Also in action are Michael Hoey, Gareth Maybin, Darren Clarke, Padraig Harrington, Peter Lawrie, Shane Lowry, Paul McGinley and Damien McGrane.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

