It’s déjà vu all over again for GMAC


GRAEME McDowell concedes that he has been struggling with his game of late but he is confident that things are starting to turn around.
Speaking on the eve of the Zurich Classic of New Orleans the US Open champion claimed that; “since Doral, I’ve really struggled with my game a little bit. My long game’s been off the ball for sure.
“I kind of had it back on track at Augusta, and hit the ball well tee to green. I didn’t hit it particularly well again last week at Harbour Town but through 45 holes at Harbour Town, I was three off the lead or thereabouts.
“I just got out of position a few times over the weekend and lost the flow a little bit.
“Generally my game’s coming around. I’m excited about it. I’ve a great run of events coming up here now, from here to TPC, over to Europe for three or four events and then back to the U.S. Open.”
And he added, “I’m feeling good, fit and healthy and the golf swing is getting better and better all the time.

“I definitely haven’t been playing my best for the last little while. But I’m getting things back on track, and I’m excited about the game now.”

His game may be a little ‘out of synch’ but as he considered his 2011 performances, GMAC couldn’t help noticing the similarities between this year and his annus mirabilis in 2010.
“It’s amazing how my season is kind of a mirror image of last year’s season,” he said.
“At this point last year I wouldn’t have told you I was on top of my game. I missed the cut at Bay Hill and missed the cut at Augusta.
“I was a little frustrated with myself, and ready to embark on a pretty tough year of golf between now and the Open.
“But it’s amazing how my season’s kind of turning out that way again this year. So hopefully I can have a good summer. I believe I can.
“I’m obviously a hell of a lot more confident and have a lot more belief in myself than I did this time last year.”
GMAC’s world has changed completely since his stunning win at Pebble Beach last year and he admits that it has been hard to juggle the many opportunities and commitments that have come his way.
However, as he looks ahead to a busy summer he is confident that he’s getting the balance right.
“I guess I was feeling a little distracted at times. But I’m ready to go,” added Graeme.
“Life’s changed for the better. It’s busier because of success. Success brings that and you want that.
“You’ve just got to learn how to deal with it. It’s been a little bit of a learning process, I guess.”

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

