McVeigh’s professional ambitions on hold

DANIELLE McVeigh gets her amateur season underway today at the Spanish Ladies Amateur Championship in Jerez.
The Curtis Cup player had hoped to be embarking on a professional career in 2011 but failed to make it through final qualifying on either side of the Atlantic.
“I think a tough year took it’s toll on me to be honest,” said Danielle.
“I really pressed in the last month (of 2010). My body was really tired and my mind was really tired.
“I just about managed to get through to the final stages of the European Tour school. I wasn’t playing well, it was simply through good course management. The travelling back and forwards to the States just caught up with me over those closing weeks.”
Danielle readily admits that her ambitious target of gaining tour cards in both Europe and America was ill-concieved.
“I don’t think I’ll try to qualify for both this time,” added the 23-year-old from Kilkeel.
“I put a lot of prep into getting my body fit for that burst of play but it was very tiring. You only learn from doing these things.”
With her dreams of professional golf halted temporarily, Danielle took five weeks off over Christmas and the New Year period.

“I didn’t touch a club at all. It was the longest break I’ve taken in five years,” she added.

“I came back refreshed and I’ve worked hard over the last six weeks to get ready for the season.
“The plan now is to play all the major amateur events this season and approach them as if I was a professional.
“I really want to try and dominate the amateur scene for this year and hopefully that will get me ready for another crack at Tour School towards the end of the year.”
Danielle will be joined in the field by the Maguire twins, Lisa and Leona plus Gillian O’Leary.
Meanwhile, in the mens’ game a strong Irish challenge has been lined up for the Spanish Amateur Open Championship and Nations Cup at El Prat Golf Club from 2-6 March.
The players selected by Ireland are Paul Cutler (Portstewart), Alan Dunbar (Rathmore), Paul Dunne (Greystones), Luke Lennox (Moyola Park), Dermot McElroy (Ballymena) and Richard O’Donovan (Lucan). 
Also in the field are Wayne Telford (Rathmore), Chris Selfridge (Moyola Park), Andrew Hogan (Newlands) and Jeff Hopkins (Skerries).

Tags:

Leave a Reply

