Leona and Danielle to play foursomes at Curtis Cup

DANIELLE McVeigh and Leona Maguire have been paired together in the opening series of foursomes matches at the Curtis Cup.

McVeigh and Maguire will take on the American pairing of Cydney Clanton and Stephanie Kono in the last of the three ties this morning at Essex County Club. Lisa Maguire will sit out the morning competition.

GB&I captain Mary McKenna believes the match-play format gives her side every chance of success.

“I think anything can happen.  I think the key thing probably more than anywhere would be in and around the greens here, and because of the speed and that, I mean I know for the practice rounds the holes have been in very, very difficult places, but hopefully they’ll be in slightly fairer places for the actual matches,” she said.

“So I think it’s whoever holes the putts.  We know our girls are champions in their own right.  They have won and they have competed well.  So there’s no reason why they can’t continue that here.”

And Danielle, from Kilkeel, Co Down added, “I know the U. S. has done very well in this event.  I just have to believe in my own game and myself.  So it’s time to get down to business and see who comes out on top at the end of the week.”

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

