Bonallack Trophy cancelled – Cutler misses out

THE travel disruption caused by the eruption in Iceland has impacted on many sporting events and golf is no exemption.

The latest casualty is the Sir Michael Bonallack trophy, which was due to be played in India from April 21-23, but has now been cancelled.

This biennial amateur event pits a team from Asia/Pacific against a European side.

Portstewart golfer, Paul Cutler, had been due to play for the European team but along with seven other members of the side, he was unable to travel.

The cancellation is a bitter blow for Cutler who had been looking forward to the event after missing out on a Walker Cup place last year.

“I was stuck in a hotel for four days in London hoping we would get a flight out,” said Cutler yesterday from a ferry on the way back to Northern Ireland.

“It was going to be good and it’s a shame we weren’t able to fly out.

“There’s nothing I can do about it now but get home and prepare for the Lytham Trophy (April 30-May 2).”

The European Golf Association revealed yesterday that only four of the 12-man European side had managed to reach India at the weekend.

Three of the team, Jesper Kennegard (Swe), Knut Borsheim (Nor) and James Byrne (Sco) flew in from colleges in America, while Carlow Pigem (Esp) flew from Madrid via Moscow.

On Sunday, the European Challenge Tour was forced to postpone the Moroccan Golf Classic, which was due to be played at the Pullman Magadan Royal Golf and Spa from April 21-24.

The Mary McKenna Trophy, due to be contested between the senior amateurs from Ireland and Scotland at Portmarnock Links was also postponed.

* PAUL CUTLER is among a seven strong Irish contingent competing in the Lytham Trophy at Royal Lytham and St Annes GC.

He will be joined by Robert Cannon (Laytown & Bettystown), Alan Dunbar (Rathmore), Paul Dunne (Greystones), Luke Lennox (Moyola Park) and Dara Lernihan (Castle).

* THE GUI have selected six players to compete at the Trubshaw Cup at Tenby and Ashburnham Golf Clubs, from 24-25 April.

Ulster trio Colin Fairweather (Knock), Connor Doran (Banbridge) and Wayne Telford (Rathmore) will be joined by Michael Durcan (Co. Sligo), Kelan McDonagh (Athlone) and James Monaghan (The Island).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: